LRW Announces 2022 Scholarship Winners: Sarah Taylor and Jessica Harrisson

Golden Valley, MN, October 10, 2022League of Railway Women (LRW) announced today the winners of its two annual scholarships.

Golden Valley, MN, October 10, 2022League of Railway Women (LRW) announced today the winners of its two annual scholarships.

Sarah Taylor, Director of Business Systems Analysis at The Kansas City Southern Railway, was awarded the $3,000 USD, Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship. Sarah is pursuing an Executive MBA at the University of Missouri - Kansas City.

"I am honored to be awarded the Connie Sumatra Scholarship. The opportunities I have been afforded while working in the rail industry have helped shape me into the leader I am today. It is these opportunities, and the wonderful people I have worked with, that inspired me to pursue higher education." - Sarah Taylor

This scholarship honors the memory of former LRW President Connie Sumara, a LRW founder and longest-serving president, and seeks to encourage women who are pursuing graduate or undergraduate degrees to further their careers within the rail industry.

Jessica Harrisson, was awarded the $2,000 USD, Future of Railroading Scholarship. Jessica is completing her Bachelor of Civil Engineering at École de Technologie Supérieur.

"I am extremely proud to have been selected this year to receive this scholarship. Also, I am especially happy to be able to follow the footsteps of great women before me and to have the opportunity to inspire other women to pursue in the engineering world. A big thank you to the league of railway women for the great opportunity." - Jessica Harrisson

The Future of Railroading scholarship is awarded to a student pursuing a graduate or undergraduate degree with an interest in supporting the rail industry.

“The rail industry is thriving thanks to the contributions of women like Sarah and Jessica,” said Crystal Gitchell, LRW Scholarship Chair. “Pursuing a post-secondary education while working full-time and balancing lives, families and responsibilities, especially amidst a global pandemic, is a feat! We hope that these scholarships help bring our winners closer to achieving their dreams."

The LRW would like to thank all of this year's applicants for their impressive submissions and encourages them to apply again next year for these annual opportunities.

For more information about the LRW scholarship program, please visit

For further information: Media Contact: Emilia Marceta, LRW Chair, Public Relations & Outreach, E-Mail:; LRW Scholarship Contact: Crystal Gitchell, LRW Scholarship Chair, E-Mail:

About Us
Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Women (LRW) is committed to improving the railroad industry by connecting and cultivating women in rail. Our mission is to advance the representation, recognition and opportunities for women, thereby promoting diversity and improving the business results of the railroad industry. Learn more at; follow the LRW on FacebookTwitterLinkedIn and Instagram.