Ontario Northland President and CEO Corina Moore Named 2018 'Outstanding Woman of the Year' by League of Railway Women

The League of Railway Women (LRW) named Corina Moore, Ontario Northland President and CEO, as the winner of the 2018 Railway Woman of the Year on Setpember 10, 2018 in Nashville, TN at the RSI/CMA 2018 Rail Expo & Technical Conference.
Nashville, TN, September 10, 2018 – The League of Railway Women (LRW) named Ontario Northland President and CEO Corina Moore the winner of the 2018 Outstanding Woman of the Year award. Moore was honored at the General Session of the RSI/CMA 2018 Rail Expo & Technical Conference.  

Co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading, this annual award is presented to a woman in the rail industry who demonstrates vision, initiative, creativity and guidance in a leadership role within her professional railway field; is innovative, a problem-solver and overcomes challenges; and brings consistent excellence to her organization and surrounding community.

“Under Corina's leadership as the first female president and CEO of a major Canadian Railway, Ontario Northland underwent the most significant transformation in its history,” said Amanda Patrick, LRW Vice President. “Recently, Corina was the first woman to be appointed to the Railway Association of Canada's Board of Directors.”

“Corina Moore is the definition of a visionary woman in rail,” said Tanis Peterson, LRW President.

The Railway Association of Canada's President and Chief Executive Officer Marc Brazeau said in his letter of recommendation for her nomination, “Corina is a strong advocate for rail, providing outreach, public speaking and presentations at various conferences and industry events throughout North America ensuring that the vital role of railways in this country is recognized and valued.”

Corina joined Ontario Northland in 2005, as the director of the telecommunications division, having since held several leadership roles within the organization. In 2010, she became the chief operating officer and vice president of the refurbishment division, providing direction on several external remanufacturing contracts and securing two of the largest contracts in the history of Ontera (the telecommunications division of Ontario Northland). 

In 2014, Corina became President and CEO of Ontario Northland, and focused on transforming a century old railway into a modern workplace focused on cost reduction, revenue growth, customer service excellence and a culture of continuous improvement. 

Corina initiated ‘Moving Forward', a transformation program focused on achieving long-term sustainability, improving efficiency and promoting the value of the organization's transportation expertise. 

In November 2017, Corina was recognized by Railway Age as part of its inaugural annual feature honoring 10 visionary railway industry women and was the very first woman to be on the cover since the publication's inception in 1856.

Past LRW Outstanding Woman of the Year winners have included Transportation Technology Center, Inc.'s Lisa Stabler, Metro-North Railroad's Anamaria Bonilla, Metrolinx's Mary Proc, and Alaska Railroad Corp.'s Wendy Lindskoog.

For further information: Media Contact: Emilia Marceta, LRW Chair, Public Relations & Outreach, E-Mail:; LRW Awards Contact: Lisa Tackach, LRW Awards Chair, E-Mail:

About the League of Railway Women

Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Women (LRW) is committed to improving the railroad industry by connecting and cultivating women in rail. Our mission is to advance the representation, recognition and opportunities for women, thereby promoting diversity and improving the business results of the railroad industry. Learn more at

Want to read more about our winner?