Celebrate an Influential Female Railway Leader by Naming Her the Next LRW Railway Woman of the Year; Applications Due August 21

Washington, DC, July 15, 2020 – The League of Railway Women (LRW) has commenced its search for the 2020 Railway Woman of the Year, co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading.
Washington, DC, July 15, 2020 – The League of Railway Women (LRW) has commenced its search for the 2020 Railway Woman of the Year, co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading.

For over two decades, this award has been a conduit for acknowledging the invaluable contributions of North American female rail industry leaders, who can be best described as confident trailblazers, influential luminaries and thoughtful visionaries.

Pam Arpin, AVP Customer and Corporate Services, CP and 2019 Railway Woman of the Year remarked, “The face of the rail industry is changing in a positive way and it is a privilege to be a steward of this change. I am excited about what the future holds for women in our chosen field.”

“The calibre of candidates we receive each year for this award is exceptionally diverse and is a true testament to the rail industry supporting and investing in the development of women leaders,” said Amanda Trainor Patrick, LRW President. “We are proud to work collaboratively with Kirk Bastyr and his team at Progressive Railroading, who have been steadfast supporters of this award for many years and have provided an exclusive platform for us to share the accomplishments of our distinguished award winners with the rail industry.”

Nomination criteria and the online nomination form are available on the LRW website,, until August 21.

LRW's Railway Woman of the Year Advisory Committee will be reviewing all applications and recommending a winner. This five-member committee is comprised of women rail leaders who are previous LRW Railway Woman of the Year honorees.

“I would encourage all rail industry personnel to scan their ranks for an eligible nominee and put her name forward,” said committee chair Mary Proc, Former Vice President, Customer Service Delivery for Metrolinx and 2015 Railway Woman of the Year. “Not only is the award a suitable tribute to the winner's record of achievement, it serves as encouragement to other women to stay and build their careers within this fast-paced and all-important industry."

“It is a privilege to work with the railway woman of the year advisory committee,” said Lisa Tackach, LRW Awards Chair. “Together, we have enhanced the nomination process to include a safety component in the award criteria. Our industry revolves around safety and the LRW Railway Woman of the Year should encourage and demonstrate safe rail practices. We are excited to receive this year's nominations and learn more about these phenomenal women in rail.”

LRW will formally announce this year's recipient in the fall during a live virtual event.

Past award winners include: CP's Pam Arpin (2019), Ontario Northland's Corina Moore (2018), Transportation Technology Center, Inc.'s Lisa Stabler (2017), Metro-North Railroad's Anamaria Bonilla (2016) and GO Transit's Mary Proc (2015).

FOR FUTHER INFORMATION: Media Contact: Emilia Marceta, LRW Public Relations & Outreach Chair,; LRW Railway Woman of the Year Nomination Contact: Lisa Tackach, LRW Awards Chair,

About The League of Railway Women

Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Women (LRW) is committed to improving the railroad industry by connecting and cultivating women in rail. Our mission is to advance the representation, recognition and opportunities for women, thereby promoting diversity and improving the business results of the railroad industry. Learn more at; follow the LRW on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.