Transformational Female Railway Leaders Need Apply; LRW Railway Woman of the Year Applications Accepted Starting July 27

Washington, DC, July 27, 2021 – The League of Railway Women (LRW) is looking for its next Railway Woman of the Year, in partnership with award co-sponsor Progressive Railroading.
Washington, DC, July 27, 2021 – The League of Railway Women (LRW) is looking for its next Railway Woman of the Year, in partnership with award co-sponsor Progressive Railroading.

Twenty-three women of purpose and passion have been recognized for their contributions to the North American rail industry to date.

“Being named LRW Railway Woman of the Year in 2020 was a tremendous honor and knowing that my peers nominated me made it even more special,” said Los Angeles Metro CEO Stephanie Wiggins. “I highly encourage all of you to nominate the women you feel represent the values and ethos of this prestigious award.”

“Over the last 18-months, transformational leaders have emerged from all areas of our industry, as we have all had to roll up our sleeves to battle this pandemic,” said Amanda Trainor Patrick, LRW President. The ways in which rail business practices have adapted and evolved, innovations emerged, and supply chains redefined, were led in short by our industry's greatest female leaders. We find them working alongside us, at our suppliers, short-lines, Class Is, manufacturers, and many others. It is their leadership that saw us through the dark days and gave us hope for better days ahead.”

Nominations and self-nominations are now being accepted on the LRW website,, until September 13.

The newly-appointed, 2021-22 Railway Woman of the Year Advisory Committee will lend their industry insight and leadership expertise to assist Lisa Tackach, LRW Awards Chair, in making the final decision about this year's winner.

“The Advisory Committee and I have worked to update this year's award requirements to better reflect the leadership demonstrated during these unprecedented times,” said Lisa Tackach. “Reviewing the nominations received each year is inspiring and illuminates the talent that often goes unnoticed. We all know a woman in our industry whose purpose has made our lives, our workplaces, and our industry better. Now is the time, nominate her.”  

This year's award recipient will be notified on or before September 30 and will be presented the award during a live virtual event this fall.

Past award winners include: CP's Pam Arpin (2019), Ontario Northland's Corina Moore (2018), Transportation Technology Center, Inc.'s Lisa Stabler (2017), Metro-North Railroad's Anamaria Bonilla (2016) and Metrolinx/GO Transit's Mary Proc (2015).

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION: Media Contact: Emilia Marceta, LRW Public Relations & Outreach Chair,; LRW Railway Woman of the Year Nomination Contact: Lisa Tackach, LRW Awards Chair,

About the League of Railway Women

Founded in 1997, the League of Railway Women (LRW) is committed to improving the railroad industry by connecting and cultivating women in rail. Our mission is to advance the representation, recognition and opportunities for women, thereby promoting diversity and improving the business results of the railroad industry. Learn more at; follow the LRW on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and Instagram.