2021-2022 Advisory Committee

Since being founded in 1997, LRW has provided a platform for the recognition of women’s leadership contributions to the North American rail industry through the Railway Woman of the Year Award, co-sponsored by Progressive Railroading.

In 2019, the inaugural LRW 'Railway Woman of the Year' Advisory Committee was appointed. 

The purpose of the advisory committee is to provide an impartial executive-level review of the candidate applications received by the LRW and make a recommendation.

To be eligible to participate on this committee, each member must be a previous WOY award recipient. The committee shall be comprised of a minimum of at least five women, who commit to a two-year term and are led by a Chair appointed by the LRW Board of Directors. 

The committee lends their industry insight and leadership expertise and assist the LRW Awards Chair, Lisa Tackach, in making the final decision in naming the Railway Woman of the Year.


LRW Railway Woman of the Year Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee Chair
Railway Woman of the Year 2019

Pam Arpin, Vice-President Innovation & Business Transformation, CP

Pam Arpin was named Vice-President Innovation & Business Transformation for CP in October 2020. In this role, Pam leads a diverse team, responsible for CP’s technology strategy, as well as overseeing CP’s Network Service Centre.

By fostering a culture of innovation, her role positions CP for sustainable growth through strategically connecting people, processes, systems, data and assets.

Pam has more than 20 years of experience working in commercial, operational, financial and customer service roles within CP.  

Pam was named the League of Railway Women’s 2019 Railway Woman of the Year and WXN’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women in Canada.

Pam holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Saskatchewan.

Advisory Committee Member
‚ÄčOutstanding Woman of the Year 2018

Corina Moore, President and CEO, Ontario Northland

As Ontario Northland’s President and CEO, Corina has shaped a resilient organization that is focused on delivering best-in-class transportation throughout Ontario.

Recognized as an inspirational leader and catalyst for change, Corina has shifted the business lines of Ontario Northland to be data-driven, customer-focused, lean, and strategic. She has cultivated a team that is focused on building integrated and impactful transportation services, including rail freight, passenger rail, motor coach transportation, rail repair/remanufacturing services and a boutique hotel.

Since taking the helm of the organization in 2014, revenues have increased, costs have been significantly contained, and services have been reimagined and expanded. New and diverse customers within each business line now provide long-term security for employees and communities. She has attracted confidence and investment, most notably a robust $500 million capital program and a motor coach service expansion that reaches from Ottawa to Winnipeg (an additional 700,000 km per year).

Corina passionately and tirelessly promotes the benefits of an integrated and seamless transportation network that connects rural Ontario to major centres across North America, which in turn has positive impacts on economic
development, tourism, road safety, the environment, and quality of life. She frequently speaks at conferences and gatherings on organizational change, authentic leadership and transportation.

Corina has many notable achievements including:
  • First woman President and CEO of Ontario Northland since its inception in 1902 and the first woman President of a Canadian Railway. (2014)
  • Appointed as an Honorary Colonel for the Canadian Armed Forces, 21 Aerospace Control & Warning Squadron. (2020)
  • Recognized by Progressive Railroading and the League of Railway Women as North America’s Outstanding Woman of the Year. (2018)
  • First woman to be appointed to the Railway Association of Canada’s Board of Directors since inception in 1917. (2017)
  • Selected by Railway Age as one of ten women who are visionaries in the rail industry in North America. The first woman to appear on the front cover of Railway Age Magazine since its inception in 1856. (2017)
  • Influential woman of the year by Northern Ontario Business. (2017)
Corina is a graduate of Waterloo University in Systems Design Engineering and Business Administration and Management.

Advisory Committee Member
‚ÄčOutstanding Woman of the Year 2013

Deborah Harris (Deb) Butler has served since January, 2015, as a Board Director of CMS Energy and Consumer’s Energy, headquartered in Jackson, MI, and since December, 2020, as a Board Director (now Board Chair) of Patriot Rail & Ports, LLC, headquartered in Jacksonville, FL.

Ms. Butler retired in 2015 after a 37-year career with Norfolk Southern Corporation. Her tenure with Norfolk Southern included 29 years in positions with increasing responsibility in the company’s operating department in Atlanta, followed by 8 years in Norfolk, VA, as executive vice president planning and chief information officer. Prior to her retirement, she served as chair of the Board of Directors of Thoroughbred Technology & Telecommunications LLC, a subsidiary of Norfolk Southern, and as a member of the Board of Directors of TTX Company and Conrail. Following her retirement, she served as a technology consultant to Amtrak’s CEO and Board of Directors.

Ms. Butler remains active in the transportation community as Commissioner and Vice Chair of the Norfolk Airport Authority, and as a Board member of the Virginia Passenger Rail Authority. She also serves as a volunteer aircraft owner and Board member of Mercy Medical Angels and as a Board member of the Military Aviation Museum. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, GA, Ms. Butler serves on its Board of Trustees as chair of the Board’s Audit and Risk Management Committee and as a member of the Executive Committee.

Ms. Butler holds a B.A. in English literature from Agnes Scott. She has also completed executive education programs at Northwestern University, the Fuqua School of Business at Duke University and the Harvard Business School.