Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship

Each year, the League of Railway Women awards a scholarship to a qualified student from around the rail industry who is pursuing an undergraduate or postgraduate degree. LRW recognizes the importance of education and is proud to offer financial assistance to students working to achieve their academic goals.

The LRW Scholarship Program provides an opportunity for any member of LRW, corporate member company, or an individual’s dependent to submit an application for scholarship funds.

Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship: In 2014, the LRW Board of Directors voted unanimously to name its annual scholarship in memory of former LRW President Connie Sumara. Ms. Sumara, one of the founders of the organization and its longest-serving president, passed away in March 2014. She was a dedicated employee of Chicago Freight Car Leasing Co. (CFCL) for 26 years, beginning her career as office manager and ultimately working her way up to Vice President and Director of Customer Support before retiring in November of 2012.

How to Apply:

  • The nomination period will open in the spring of 2019.
  • Amount of Award: $1500 USD
2018 Connie Sumara Memorial Scholarship Winner:

Payton Comazzetto – Thompson Rivers University, First Nations Studies – Assistant Station Manager, Rocky Mountaineer  

Previous Recipients: Please contact for more information or to contribute.